Jump to content
XPEnology Community

Recreate USB BootLoader


halistorm
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hi Folks,

 

Apologies for my Noob questions (I'm not very techincal, so probably out of my depth in most of the forums).

 

I have an N54L with Xpenology installed for 4+ years mainly using Plex and it worked beautifully, until I recently bent the USB Bootloader so the NAS no longer works :(

 

I've had a look around the forums and on google, but I'm either a complete dullard (possible) or I'm overthinking things.....

 

How do I recreate the bootloader without losing the contents of the NAS?

 

I still have the original files I used to perform the install, however I don't recall whether I performed any DSM version updates. The original files are:

 

  • gnoboot-alpha10.5
  • DSM_DS3612xs_4458.pat

 

I tried to work out which version I was on, but I was unable to locate the version file or the system files using -

 

I did find the following, but still wasn't sure whether it was what I needed -

 

 

I can't be the only person that's encountered this problem, but I guess most Xpenology users are of a decent level of technical knowledge.

 

Appreciate any assistance.

 

Cheers

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 year later...

the bootloader .so is easy u can download it again  from any  website ....
however you have 2 options:
1-if you have the PID-VID  of ur usb,the Serial number of your existing synology and the macaddress ..... it s easy u can adjust the file and it should work perfectly ......
(Assuming the loader u downloader match the DSM Version  on your Synology nas) 
If the Bootloader usb  doesn t match  u can siply get a new HDD and install a new Synology and use the same DSM version  so  ur usb  stick would have updated and changed the file in it ... and then u can get rid of that new HDD and  put back ur old Synology and load it as if nothing happens ......

2-If you don t have the serial number and the mac adress u need to  still do  step 1 first and  get the same version of your old synology nas and now u will install  a new synology when it prompts u u simply tell it to Merge  with old synology ... ur files won t be deleted but most likely u will  have a new Synology System  

3- the worst case if u don t have anything and u don t know anything about ur old synology all u have to do is go to this :

and check what  is the highest possible DSM you can install and install a new Synology on your drives and do the  same as u did in step 2 by MERGING  option which will appear to u ... and u will NOT  lose your volumes 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...