XPEnology Community

Can i use Intel NUC i7 NUC7i7BNH with xpenology? Looking to upgrade current Synology NAS

xpe48

Hi,

I have a very reliable synology nas I have been using for 10 years. Looking to get something more modern which is a little faster.

Was looking at 723+ but than I realized it is a simple AMD processor and no hardware encoding (not critical), so i have a spare Intel NUC i7 NUC7i7BNH i thought could I use this and load DSM and that is when I stumbled on this site.

Doing a search for this model NUC nothing came up so I figured I would ask if any one has done it and if it is possible?

Thoughts?

1 час назад, xpe48 сказал:

i have a spare Intel NUC i7 NUC7i7BNH i thought could I use this and load DSM and that is when I stumbled on this site... if any one has done it and if it is possible?

yes.

But you need to figure out for yourself what you plan to use this DSM for. For example, it will be impossible to connect sufficiently large volumes of disks to it while maintaining high speed, reliability and convenience.

In my case, DSM are based on NUC, used only in the country as a CMS Recorder (Surveillance Station) - it is installed in a cottage with a weak Internet connection and store a small amount of recordings from cameras. I do not have any increased requirements for it in terms of performance, large storage volume or high reliability. The main thing for me here is maximum compactness and simplicity.

How about the NUCNUC12DCMi7 this has a 10Gb network adapter which is what I'm looking for but again concern is compatiblity.

When you state it will be impossible to connect large volumes what do you mean. My plan is to run the DSM on a 4TB M.2 drive. Would this be possible?

1 час назад, xpe48 сказал:

How about the NUCNUC12DCMi7 this has a 10Gb network adapter which is what I'm looking for but again concern is compatiblity.