XPEnology Community

A few good questions...

Stuart

XPEnology users, developers, gurus:

I work in IT and have a small home lab and have been considering to setup a NAS (I am also reviewing openmediavault too), but hear that Synology is the 800lb guerilla in this space. Let me say, I am not opposed to buying a Synology NAS, I just (initially) wish to kick the tires on it and see what it has. If I can build a Synology based NAS using an HP microserver or the like I am open to that also as it would afford me far greater customization and capability (see below).

I am a single user that would use it for general storage, backups of ProxMox images, ISO storage (and ostensibly a PXE server if it can do that easily), tftp service, etc...

How painful is it to get XPEnology running under ProxMox? If imagine a server built with ProxMox to run XPEnology and pfSense on it (both as VMs under ProxMox). If I did this, I would imagine obtaining a 4 port Ethernet PCI board that is compatible with ProxMox and then have a nice environment for both purposes (I have read HP N40L micro servers are recommended these days as 'the best of inexpensive').

I also read that you need to generate a serial number and MAC address pair for most useful features to work, is that correct? What is the story on this?

Please note, I would intend all of these questions relative to DSM 7.1.x of course. If I bought a Synology NAS, can it also use devices available via iSCSI? How functionally problematic is it to use something like an HP N40L microserver vice buying an older Synology NAS? How old of a Synology NAS can I buy before current DSM versions will not work or it goes out of support or that?

Thanks in advance and do stay safe from the thugs, healthy, and free of the Virus.

Stuart

• Angry 1

On 10/14/2022 at 10:39 PM, Stuart said:

I also read that you need to generate a serial number and MAC address pair for most useful features to work, is that correct? What is the story on this?