XPEnology Community

Issues Installing DSM7.1 on HP N54L Microserver

Tunesly

Hi all,

I have been using a HP G7 N54L Microserver with the standard 4 drives (4x 2TB Seagate SATA NASware, ancient but still working) and embedded NIC, and a SanDisk 16GB USB3.0 flashdrive running DSM5.0 that was setup by a friend around 10 years ago and it has worked flawlessly but given the age of the software I figured it was time to upgrade to DSM7.1.1. I'm a noob to xpenology myself so please be gentle. I've read up a fair bit but I've still got a ways to go.

I've been following the well written upgrade guide here https://tomvanveen.eu/installing-synology-dsm-7-x-on-a-hp-n54l-in-2022/ in combination with the excellent post by flyride here:

Many people have had success with it but I've run into a problem during the build in TinyCore. First I flashed the BIOS successfully using Kamzata's ROM (https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/showthread.php?pid=75965#pid75965). I didn't realise this reset the BIOS clock which I thought might be the issue but I've since updated it and the issue persists. I've also disabled the C1E Support setting so it's not that. I'm using older TC v0.9.3.0 as recommended in the guide for N54Ls, with the BIOS/CSM/Legacy boot from USB flash drive image.

I can run through all the commands successfully but when I boot into RedPill USB option in the GRUB menu I get this "error: file './custom.gz' not found" (pic attached) and my router is not assigning an IP address so I can't find Synology in Synology Assistant (checked the ports/cables so issue is not router related).

I noticed these issues following the build command in the TinyCore terminal:

menuentry 'RedPill DS3622xs v7.1.1-42962 Beta (USB, Verbose)' {
menuentry 'RedPill DS3622xs v7.1.1-42962 Beta (SATA, Verbose)' {