XPEnology Community

New to XPenology

jthorpe

Hi everyone, my name's John. I'm new to XPenology and looking to build my own. 

The parts I currently have are:

Case: Fractal Design Node 804

Motherboard: ASRock Rack Mini ITX DDR3 1333 C2550D4I

RAM: Kingston PC3-12800 4 GB (2 x 2 GB sticks) DIMM 1600 MHz DDR3 SDRAM (KHX1600C9D3K2/4GX)

Power Supply: Silverstone Strider Essential Series 500 W 80+ Gold (SST-ST50F-ESG)

Thumb Drive: Verbatim Store 'n Stay 16 GB Nano USB 3.0 thumb drive

Other than drives, are these parts sufficient for a XPenology DIY build? If so, what steps do I need to finish building (I've seen a few videos that say go to XPenology.me and others say to go to synology.com for the pat file)?

DIY NAS Objectives:

1.) Able to add drives or larger drives to increase drive size without having to move data off then back on or losing data (i.e.: start off with 3 drives and be able to add drives and changing the RAID from a SHR1 to a SHR2 configuration to have up to 2 drive redundancy without moving or losing data)

2.) Remote access from outside network for uploading/downloading/streaming to computer/android/ or ios device

3.) Assign users and passwords on a URL connection to share media without allowing downloading of media files (i.e.: video files, music files - with a possible log of when user logged in/files accessed, etc.)

4.) Media streaming to computers/PS3/PS4/Xbox 360/Xbox One/Boxee Box/etc. without access to other folders and files

5.) iTunes server - run iTunes in the background to allow home sharing within the home network

6.) Issues or errors notified via text/email

7.) Access via IOS app like My Cloud

8.) Use a UPS for the NAS build and have it shut down once battery has depleted

9.) Sync selected files/folders to a cloud drive or to another NAS

10.) Automatic weekly backup of all computers - keeping the last 5 backups before the oldest one rolls off