icanic

Reinstall diskstation without losing data?

Recommended Posts

Greetings!

I have some big problem with my diskstation.

Everything was working great until today. 

I dont know what happened but I cant open diskstation anymore it directly opens web assistant.

I am on latest DSM and Jun's loader 1.02b.

When I try to boot in reinstall mode I get this warning from the picture.

Dont know what to do now.

Can anyone help?

Thank you!

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 12.39.27.png

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try @polanskiman's tutorial on accessing data partitions and check your raid is ok - and take a backup

A process that has worked for me to recover a failed system is;

1) Disconnect your raid HDDs

2) Connect a spare HDD to sata channel 1

3) Create a 'clean install' of DSM on the spare HDD and update to the same update packs as your live system, create user account and p/w to match, Dont create a volume. Power off.

4) Reconnect your raid HDDs leaving the 'clean install' disk connected to channel 1 and restart

5) Login to DSM and you should see your data volume degraded with failed system partitions - repair them from from the clean HDD.

6) Power off, disconnect clean HDD and reconnect your raid drives to sata 1-n

You may need to install packages and reset other settings

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you for your reply.

I have solved the problem with another solution because I have seen your replay later.

Started normal boot with Junes loader 1.02b and then clicked install with synology assistant. No data was erased, only DSM was reinstalled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thats good news :smile:

you should check your logs to see what might have happened, its unusual for dsm to be erased from all drives

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

DSM says that as a precaution and for the user to be aware of the potential risk. When you see the ongoing installation process in the Setup wizard window the data partition is actually greyed out and DSM never touches it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.