XPEnology Community

DSM 6.2.3 baremetal drive connected to PCIE card recognized but not working

mpstyle

I posted this in reddit r/Xpenology but got nothing 🥲

I hope somebody could help me on this...

First I am pretty new to Xpenology but I have pretty good experience with general windows machines and can do pretty much anything following the instructions.

I setup a small NAS using DSM 6.2.3 (DS918+ Jun's mod)

Original plan was to use DSM7 with TCRP but it did not work after many tries.

I only want it to run as a media server so nothing fancy is needed anyways and 6.2 seemed more stable as well.

I have no interest I just want a setup that will stay and run without me constantly maintaining.

I am perfectly happy with my current setup except one thing.

(Current Setup)

• CPU: Intel G4600 - undervolted slightly to reduce power and run cool
  • RAM: 16G DDR3
  • MB: Gigabyte GA-H110N (ITX)
  • Case: 4 + 1 Bay NAS Case (Hot-swap SATA backplane installed)
  • PCI-e: JMB585/SATA 3.0 Non-Raid 5 ports
  • SSD: 1 x 250G Samsung 840 EVO SSD that I have left around
  • HDD: 3 x 12T Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN008

My MB, GA-H110N has 3 SATA ports. My case has 4 HDD hot-swap bays and one 2.5inch bay.

My original plan was to only use MB SATA ports for SSD and use 4 ports on PCIE card because it would be much cleaner in terms of cable mgmt, etc.

However it was not working for whatever reasons (Probably the same reason I am posting this today) and I have moved 2 drives to MB and 1 drive hooked to PCI-e card.

My SSD is setup as a Volume 1 that is being used to install and running all packages and docker - installed to 2.5inch bay

I wanted to 3 HDDs to be set up as raid (1 parity drive) but after completing installation, one of the three drives, stays as "Not Initialized"

I thought it was nothing in the first and tried to setup a pool with three drives, but it failed multiple times.