Jump to content
XPEnology Community

Factory reset : How to do it?


jbesclapez
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hello,

 

I have an issue with my DSM. Since the update 5 (coming from update3) I get an error "DSM cannot start up normally because it ran into a problem"

I dont know how to solve that (and I did some research), so i was thinking of doing a reset.

 

The official synology guides are useless because they mention to press a button on the back of the box. We dont have that :smile:

 

I found this :

Screen_Shot_2016_06_01_at_3_24_37_PM.png

 

But as you see, it seems that it also deletes the volumes? Is that correct? Or it only deletes the config file of the DSM?

I dont want to lose my volume and data... only I want to reset the config of the box.

 

How do i do that?

 

Please help

 

Thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If it says it will erase data, then it will erase data.

Not sure... As I recall on my former real Syno it used to only reset the "user specs" of the syno - which is not the volumes but only the syno config.

 

As someone tried? If not, how can I do that?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...