Sign in to follow this  
interested

How to reinstall or downgrade DSM without losing the data

Recommended Posts

Reinstall DSM (eg 4.2.3211) without losing the data on Volume:

 

01. Enable SSH if it`s not & connect to SYNOLOGY

02. Open & edit the file \etc.defaults\VERSION

03. Exchange the data with one of previous ver.:

 

majorversion="4"
minorversion="1"
buildphase="0"
buildnumber="2661"
builddate="2012/12/05"

04. Save & Exit

05. Restart Synology

06. Launch Synology Assistant

07. Click 'Search'

08. If you've done everything correctly you'll see a new 'DiskStation' has been found.

09. Disconnect the USB flash drive from the computer for this next step

10. Right-click the new 'DiskStation' and choose 'Install'

11. Browse and select the same version (4.2.3211.pat) which U already running

12. Choose a Name for the DiskStation, a new default admin password and IP configuration

13. After installation is complete the DiskStation will reboot automatically.

14. Power it OFF manually now

15. Isert the same USB Flash drive (4.2.3211.img) back into PC

16. Power on PC & DSM will boot normally

17. In Synology Assistant click 'Search' again

18. Depending on the name and network config you chose during installation you will see now a DiskStation has been found with the NAME you chose.

 

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Downgrade 4.2.3211 to 4.2.3202 without losing the data on Volume:

 

 

01. Enable SSH if it`s not & connect to SYNOLOGY

02. Open & edit the file \etc.defaults\VERSION

03. Exchange the data with one of previous ver.:

 

majorversion="4"
minorversion="1"
buildphase="0"
buildnumber="2661"
builddate="2012/12/05"

04. Save & Exit

05. Shutdown Synology

06. Exchange USB Flash drive with previous version 4.2.3202.img

07. Power on PC & DSM will boot normally

08. Launch Synology Assistant

09. Click 'Search'

10. If you've done everything correctly you'll see a new 'DiskStation' has been found.

11. Disconnect the USB flash drive from the computer for this next step

12. Right-click the new 'DiskStation' and choose 'Install'

13. Browse and select the previous version (4.2.3202.pat)

14. Choose a Name for the DiskStation, a new default admin password and IP configuration

15. After installation is complete the DiskStation will reboot automatically.

16. Power it OFF manually now

17. Isert the same USB Flash drive (4.2.3202) back into PC

18. Power on PC & DSM will boot normally

19. In Synology Assistant click 'Search' again

20. Depending on the name and network config you chose during installation you will see now a DiskStation has been found with the NAME you chose

 

 

Probably many of you know that already, but still ...

 

 

Regards.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi

Has anyone tried this from 4.3 and down to 4.2-3211 ?

I tried the mentioned method, but I wont get the "install" option when right click the entry in "Synology assistent".

Is there a way to force it, I dont mind to reformat and start over?

Best regards

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You need a Synology Migration. Install your hdd's to another hardware (for DSM understand - it's another hardware, I don't know how it as determined, may be by MAC adress), boot from flash and install XPEnology, after this go back to your hardware and install 4.2. I'ts a simple and fast way, i think.

 

P.S.: use web browser for upload, not SA (bugg's), and don't save any settings, because it's don't support downgrade.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can try a settings backup, that *should* be able to import stuff after losing the configuration. Unfortunately there's no built-in option to save apps, their data, etc. :sad: Maybe that's the big thing in 5.0?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi

 

Thx for the reply.

 

Sorry for the late response. I got sick, and was out of circulation for a while, but now I am back :smile:

 

I am not familar with the "Synology migration" and "XPEnology".

What do you mean with "install your hdd's to another hardware"?

 

Could you be more specific of what to do ? - do I have to format the disks on a PC for example?

- or should it be another NAS of same model?

 

best regards, and appreciate your reply :smile:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just put your hdd's from your system to another, install XPE. Put hdd's back to your system, install XPE. Profit, all data saved.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this