XPEnology Community

Question: Compiling for Other Models and Chipsets (Denverton)

tlsnine

Other than time and maybe Human Resources, what is keeping Redpill from supporting other models?

I have a Denverton-based SuperMicro server that seemingly matches up well with several Synology offerings, yet I'm still required to install essentially one of these 3 models: ds918+, ds3615xs, or ds3617xs.

Redpill allows me to generate a serial for the DVA3221 but then proceeds to install for ds3617xs anyway.

I realize it's just grabbing what the json files are telling it to.

I see the sources for Denverton are available, so what's truly involved in altering the script to support the 9 (NINE!) models Synology offers. For comparison, ApolloLake only has 6 models available.

Time is something I have a lot of right now, and while I'm not a coder, if there was a basic script of flow-chart I could follow, I'm not opposed to giving it a shot to build for Denverton.

Am I wasting my time?

Can someone point me in the right direction or tell me, with a reason, why it's not possible?

I'm also not opposed to donating some beer money if someone else want to tackle this.

Thanks for everyones hard work!!

Somebody else correct me if I am wrong...or add to my answer...

I think the main reason that no other model is supported at the moment it's because the other DSMs do not offer anything more (for most users)...

For example DS918+ physically the machine has 4 disks but no one is stopping you to use 8 or maybe more. It has 4 cores but it supports up to 8. Same for RAM and ethernet...

In addition DS3617xs and Ds3615xs support any x86-64 CPU (especially for people with older Xeon Processors) when DS918+ supports most/some Hasewell CPUs and above...

DS918+ also supports NVMe Cache which other models do not.