XPEnology Community

How to recover data from defected Synology

trian

Question

Hi,
I'm completely new to XPenology concept, so apologies in advance. Please guide me even if I am in the wrong forum.

We had a RS815RP+ running DSM 5.2-5967 (update 6, I think) which served as common storage of 3 VMware ESXi servers. The connection between ESXi and NAS was via iSCSI/LUN. Unfortunately, the device broke down and now I am looking for a straightforward way to recover my VMs.
Since the HDDs are in good health, I managed to mount them on a PC but the content is not what I expected to see. Below is a very short list from its root file system:

[root@recoverypc synology]# ls -l
total 3380
drwxrwxrwx 6 root root 4096 Apr 27 2018 @appstore
-rw------- 1 root root 10240 Sep 16 2020 aquota.group
-rw------- 1 root root 13312 Sep 16 2020 aquota.user
drwx------ 2 root root 4096 Sep 14 2016 @autoupdate
drwxr-xr-x 6 1024 users 4096 Nov 17 2016 @database
drwx------ 2 root root 4096 Dec 25 22:22 @EP
drwx------ 2 root root 4096 Jun 11 2016 @iSCSITrg
drwx------ 2 root root 16384 May 8 2015 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 May 8 2015 @S2S
-rw------- 1 root root 3649536 Nov 1 2016 @smbd.core
-rw------- 1 root root 5120 May 15 2015 synoquota.db
drwxrwxrwt 3 root root 4096 Sep 29 12:27 @tmp
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 28672 Jul 6 2015 winbindd_cache.tdb

[root@recoverypc synology]# ls -lh \@EP
total 11430513168
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4.1T Sep 29 12:28 EP_BUF
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4.1T Sep 29 12:28 EP_DAT_00000
-rw------- 1 root root 4.1T Sep 29 12:28 EP_DAT_00001
-rw------- 1 root root 2.7T Sep 29 12:28 EP_DAT_00002
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4.1T Sep 29 12:28 EP_FRI
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4.1T Sep 29 12:28 EP_ROD
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 4.1T Sep 29 12:28 EP_TBL