XPEnology Community

Unable to install

frostiex

Hi have I am new to this and have been looking thru the site and decided to try this with my ex470 hp micro server.

I have read thru many post in regards and I even went so far to building the vga adapter so I can see on a monitor.

How ever every time I tory to boot off the usb I created with image writer. The machine freezes at post.

Has anyone see something similar?

Confident this isn't the answer you seek but have you tried ESXi?

I originally wanted HyperV on my N54L but it just outright refused to boot from USB. In the end I had to go with ESXi which is working like a dream.

Granted there's no native S.M.A.R.T data available but someone on here has built a Raspberry Pi tool to get the info; haven't tried it myself yet so don't know how good it is

• 9 months later...

I own EX470 server and I was able to install DSM on EX470. I'm running DSM 5.2.5592-4 with XPEnoboot 5.2.5592-2 on this machine.

I will let you know very important few things to boot with USB.

You have to insert USB flash drive very bottom of back panel. BIOS only recognize that USB port as USB boot device. Also, you need to change boot order.

WORK AROUND

1. If you don't have access to VGA, there is a workaround.

- Turn off power

- Remove 4th HDD drive from the top. (With this, EX470 BIOS think that bootable HDD doesn't exist and should consider other device to boot.)

or you can use 1st, 2nd and 3rd HDD bay. just don't use 4th HDD bay from top. With 4th HDD bay empty, you can reboot machine remotely.

- Turn on power

- Keep press F12 at least 10 second. Purple led will blink at first, after few second, it changes to steady blue led.

(I assume that it indicates USB device is ready and we are in boot menu)

- press down arrow 7 times and press enter (it's for selecting "BOOT FROM USB-CDROM")

- Right after that, insert 4th HDD drive. (With this, XPEnology/Synology recognize this storage during boot.)