XPEnology Community

36 Bay NAS, drives starting at 11 instead of 1 (1.03b with DS3617)

Jay Y

I've been using Xpenology boxes for a few years now and decided to build a new, bigger box. So now I'm building a 36 Bay unit, plus another 24 bay and 12 bay on the way next. 

This is the problem: I started to plug in drives on my NAS and realized that HDD numbers start from 11 and go on sequentially, irrespective of which bay I put the next drive in. To be clear, I put my first drive in Bay 1 and that gets recorded as disk 11. Now, if I put the next drive in Bay 10 that is still shown as disk 12 in storage manager.

This is where it gets worse: I then put 10 drives in from Bay 1 through Bay 10, and disk numbers went up sequentially. If I then remove a drive from Bay 5, (Disk 15) and add a new drive in Bay 11 that shows up as disk 15 in storage manager. If I then go back and put a drive in Bay 5, that now shows as disk 16! 

I have searched through this forum and attempted lots of google-fu to figure this out with combinations of SataPortMap, DiskIdxMap, SasIdxMap and Sata_remap. I've restarted, re-configured and rebuilt this box over a dozen times in the last 4 days. For the sake of completeness I will include a list of forum posts, at this end of this post, that I've referenced in trying to solve this. I started with setting this up as a 918+ box but couldn't get that to install so switched over to 3617xs.

I am asking for help with these two things: