Sign in to follow this  
lev

Please help me with migration from 4.3 to 5

Recommended Posts

Guys I'm upgrading DSM 4.3 to 5. I have content in /photo folder (photostation). Does migration process delete it's content? or just settings?

 

I read this page and seems like it doesn't:

 

http://forum.synology.com/wiki/index.ph ... gy_Systems

 

 

I really really need your experience because I'm already stuck at starting point of migration process.

 

By the way, how to login from shell during this process? My previous password not working at:

 

DiskStation Login:

 

 

thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i'm able to connect to it from web browser, I just wonder why I cant log in from ssh/telnet with my previous pass during migration.

 

Now I'm just copying important data from it's hdd to another to be sure.

 

by the way, I recommend UFS Explorer to everyone!! It is able to read synology drive and its contents from windows. I tried EXT2 volume reader, DiskInternals Linux Reader, etc..... but no luck.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because your NAS is not running during migration. It has only booted from your USB-stick - no user-info has been read from your NAS diskdrives.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this