XPEnology Community

hardware good enough?

epicurean

I wish to exist an existing gigabyte G41M combo board with 8GB ram and a Core 2 Duo e6600 CPU, to build an ESXi server with 2 VMs only (windows 7, and xpenology).

I have an ASM1061 which I intend to use the 2 SATA ports to for a datastore, whilst using the onbard 4 sata ports for a RAID 5 file server( xpenology).

Will the hardware I have be able to run both VMs (both of which need to be running simultaneously) sufficiently?

Any suggestions welcomed.

thank you.

PS - I have tried just DSM 5.0 xpenology on bare metal on this hardware and it works fine.

I'm pretty sure (though i'm just a newbie as well).

Synology needs 1-2GB Ram, Windows likes 4GB (or more).

I've a simlar setup (Celeron 2x 2,7GHz), Synology takes between 200MHz (of 5400MHz = 2*2,7GHz) IDLE and ~2000MHz (file transaction).

Using Windows 7 while copying files has no noticeable impact on Win7 perfomance (I must admit, I do not work with the Win7 VM, it's just about running some prgrammms all the time).

best reards,

Christian

Thanks so much for replying Christian.

Would you be able to advise me which part of my hardware should passthrough for the xpenology NAS, and which I should use for the windows 7? I am using Windows 7 mainly for a Mysql server based software, whilst the NAS will server mostly as storage and as a file server.

I have no experience at all with Esxi, is it very technical and difficult to implement? I don't understand what people saying about RDM and the other form

Much thanks