Sign in to follow this  
applepie

Tutorial: Downgrade/Rollback from newer version of DSM to older version with Settings preserved

Recommended Posts

Since DSM does not allow downgrading if you choose to preserve settings, you need to trick it to believe the installed version is older version

 

Assumption:

You have updated to newer version 6.2.2 (DSM_DS3615xs_24922.pat) and it is bricked

You want to rollback to 6.2 (DSM_DS3615xs_23739.pat) with setting preserved

 

Prerequisite

Your original USB boot key (For 3615) (USB Drive A)

Any Live Linux USB key (e.g. Debian)  (USB Drive B)

An additional USB boot key (With 3617 loader and corrected VID/PID/MAC, SN is not important )  (USB Drive C)

File: DSM_DS3615xs_23739.pat

File: etc.defaults/VERSION extracted from hda1.tgz from DSM_DS3615xs_23739.pat

File: DSM_DS3617xs_23739.pat

Internet Connection

 

Steps:

Part 1: Trick the system that you are running older version

1) Boot with Live Linux (USB Drive B)

2) Install mdadm

3) Mount system partition

4) copy the VERSION extracted earlier and overwrite the one in /etc.defaults/ and /etc/

 

Part 2: Migrate to 3617

5) Boot using USB Drive C

6) Migrate to 3617 (DSM_DS3617xs_23739.pat). Please choose "preserve setting" during migration

 

Part 3: Migrate back to 3615

7) Boot using USB Drive A

😎 Migrate back to 3615 (DSM_DS3615xs_23739.pat). Please choose "preserve setting" during migration

 

Edited by applepie
fix typos

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this