XPEnology Community

Slow transfer speed on single files

dravik

Question

Hi All,

I am kind of new to the Xpenology group, but I am a data communication professional.

I connect to the system from outside of my house using VPN.

I have a 50/50mbit connection.

Files download really slow from outside of my network (inside works fine). I am talking about 1000kb/s. However, if i download the same file at the same time I get another 1000kb/s. And a 3rd file at the sime time gives me another 1000kb/s. Even if I download the same file multiple times in parallel I get 1000kb/s for each connection.

So my connection is fast enough, my VPN works fast enough, but single-file transfer are really slow.

I have already tried:

- local file transfer inside of my network. They work fine and get over 100mbit.

- SMB file transfer over VPN, also 1000kb/s.

- FTP over VPN, also 1000kb/s per connection.

- Disabling encryption and VPN, also 1000kb/s.

- Using teamviewer: speed goes up to 80mbit/s.

Any ideas to get those singe-file speed up?

7 answers to this question

25 minutes ago, jensmander said:

What kind of VPN do you use? Router based or Synologys VPN? Did you set any limitations within DSM?

Thanks for helping. 

VPN enabled or direct connection after opening a port has the same result. I do use Openvpn server directly on xpenology. 

I have not set any limitation on the VPN server, user accounts and other synology configuration (I think at least) .