XPEnology Community

Hard Drive Upgrade

finn_uk

Hello all,

Firstly let me apologise in advance, I am an utter noob with this!

I recently purchased an N54L and, wanting to install software that was as user friendly as possible, decided to install XPEnology which I have so far been very pleased with.

I have the 256GB drive that the server came with, plus 2x3TB WD Reds. I now have 2 more 3TB WD Reds on order and my questions is this...

If I want to replace the 256GB drive for one of the WDs, is it simply a cases of physically replacing it and XPEnology will do the rest data-wise? Or would I need to take a full backup first and do some sort of re-build?

I have tried to search this but only find posts relating to replacing failed drives, probably the same thing but I thought I'd check!

Haven't done this yet, but my experience tells me that the following actions will help you achieve the goal:

1. plug in one of your new HDDs and start your NAS the normal way

2. Go to Storage Manager in DSM -> Volume -> Manage -> Expand the volume by adding hard disks

3. A consistency check should start after finishing step 2. Only after this step has finished successfully you can go to step 4

4. Shutdown your NAS, remove the small HDD and connect the 2nd new HDD

5. Go to Storage Manager in DSM -> Volume -> Manage -> Expand the volume by adding hard disks

6. A consistency check should start after finishing step 5

7. Your new volume should be ready to rumble!

This small how-to applies if you have a SHR-1/RAID5 type volume

Cheers and good luck!

What Schnapps says should work... But as your current disk is so small I'd prefer to (in order of what I'd do):

1) Start again with the WDs and use a host computer to transfer the 250GB to the new SHR volume over the network.

2) Start again with the WDs and use a spare bay in the N54L to transfer the 250GB to the new SHR volume locally.