XPEnology Community

Tutorial: Install/DSM 6.2 on ESXi [HP Microserver Gen8] with RDM

jadehawk

Video tutorial on how to get XPEnology to run on an HP Microserver Gen8 via ESXi 6.7, and install DSM 6.2 on SSD drive on ODD port, and pass drivebays to VM with RDM (Raw Data Mapping)

MANY Thanx go to the great tutorial already posted here by @luchuma [ Tutorial: Install/DSM 6.2 on ESXi 6.7 ]

I just always prefer to watch a video ;)

• Like 2
  • Thanks 3

27 minutes ago, haydibe said:

Great Video! Very detailed and beginner friendly.

Almost perfect :)

Though, there is one tiny detail: if you would've  set the vnic to intel 1000e, you would have prepared the vm to be compatible with DSM6.2.1.

Really!.. This I was not aware.. Will give it a sometime next week (On my day off). Thank you!..

I am on DS3615xs.

I have no experience whetere the Intel 1000e drivers are available in DSM6.2.1 for DS3617. They are in DSM6.2.1 for DS3615.

Your might want to spin up a new vm and find out if the drivers are available. Don't forget to change the mac addresses and serial numbers in your grub.cfg though :)

Just now, haydibe said:

I am on DS3615xs.

I have no experience whetere the Intel 1000e drivers are available in DSM6.2.1 for DS3617. They are in DSM6.2.1 for DS3615.

Your might want to spin up a new vm and find out if the drivers are available. Don't forget to change the mac addresses and serial numbers in your grub.cfg though :)

Will DO.. I'll update here if it worked with DS3617.. Thank you again.. Time to pack up and head home.. Long night...

To those interested.. 

• DSM 6.2.1-23824 Update 1 = Did NOT work on ESXi Using DS3617xs (Changing Network vnic to E1000e did not help)
  • DSM 6.2.1-23824 Update 1 = Works 100% on ESXi  Using DS3615xs (Changing Network vnic to E1000e).
  • Migrating the already setup Volume from DS3617xs to DS3615xs was as simple as reassigning the vmdk disks 1-3 to the new VM and repairing the partitions

Thank you @haydibe