XPEnology Community

Preface: I'm new to Xpenology and DSM...

Long story short, I'm building a new (really just reallocating hardware) 24x SAS drive SAN and decided to run Xpenology on it following THIS to do the install and THIS to increase the disk capacity beyond 12 drives. Everything went great. I had a couple 3TB drives that I copied my vCenter VMs to, took all of the SAS drives from my hosts, put them in the 24 bays of my SAN, and started to migrate the VMs to the two R10 arrays I created via iSCSI. Migration was going great... I migrated everything but the vCenter appliance.... Well, I was migrating the vCenter appliance...

Then my UPS faulted, and my SAN shutdown. See... I have two UPS', and each server and my SAN have two PSUs each. One PSU goes to one UPS, and another PSU goes to the other UPS. It's a good, redundant system... However... My SAN only had one PSU connected at the time, and it was to the UPS that faulted...

Ok, so hopefully I can boot up the SAN, and it's no big deal. I could probably recover VCSA...

Nope. I boot up the SAN, go to the GUI, and am prompted with this message:

8GfkTBY.png

Geez... ok... I select "Migration: Keep my data and most of the settings" from the installation type selection, select the DSM that I downloaded in accordance with the first video I referenced, and let it install. Of course, when it came back up and went to the GUI, only 12 disks were visable, and not 45, so of course DSM thinks the array crashed. OK... FINE... I edit the synoinfo.conf to allow 45 drives again. But that requires a reboot. So I rebooted the SAN, and I'm then greeted with the same message prompting for me to reinstall DSM...

WHAT DO I DO!? How can I recover DSM and my arrays?

25 minutes ago, sbv3000 said:

If you check the forum you will see that there are various posts about the maximum number of drives and I think there is a limit of 24. Some people have reported exceeding this but on reboot the config is lost.