environement for trying xpenolgy

environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby Aigor » 23 Apr 2013 08:43

For my other project i have setup a complete boot server, so i decide to try to boot xpenologi via pxe , i dont know if somenone have alredy suggest this, but i think it's to simple use pxe instead of regular img file to try xpenology
User avatar
Aigor
 
Posts: 302
Joined: 03 Apr 2013 16:54
Location: Roma Italy

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby lopo » 25 Apr 2013 20:31

Hi Aigor,

I just tried successfully:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt

copy by ssh:
zImage
rd.gz
completely boot on local hard drive

copy to pxe-server /tftpd/xpenology
zImage
rd.gz

insert into pxelinux.cfg/default
LABEL xpenolog
kernel xpenology/zImage root=/dev/md0 ihd_num=0 netif_num=2 syno_hw_version=RS3612xs ac1=0010562E3E36 mac1=0051562E3E37 sn=B5JDN10005
initrd xpenology/rd.gz
it boot in virtualbox
I have installed in virtualbox :)
but as dhcp, otherwise it did not work (with me)

greetings lopo
lopo
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 25 Apr 2013 19:42

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby Aigor » 26 Apr 2013 07:49

lopo wrote:Hi Aigor,

I just tried successfully:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt

copy by ssh:
zImage
rd.gz
completely boot on local hard drive

copy to pxe-server /tftpd/xpenology
zImage
rd.gz

insert into pxelinux.cfg/default
LABEL xpenolog
kernel xpenology/zImage root=/dev/md0 ihd_num=0 netif_num=2 syno_hw_version=RS3612xs ac1=0010562E3E36 mac1=0051562E3E37 sn=B5JDN10005
initrd xpenology/rd.gz
it boot in virtualbox
I have installed in virtualbox :)
but as dhcp, otherwise it did not work (with me)

greetings lopo

which kind of file are you using? where they comes from? zimage and rd.gz is from some repack or it comes from original pat file from synology?
User avatar
Aigor
 
Posts: 302
Joined: 03 Apr 2013 16:54
Location: Roma Italy

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby lopo » 26 Apr 2013 08:26

Hi Aigor,
this
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3

what is very important:
each client needs its own directory on the server
tftpd/diskstation1
tftpd/diskstation2
etc
the HW MAC networkadapter in the DHCP Server and in the pxelinux.cfg/default match

in My DHCP server (http://ipcop.org/) can set:
filename: diskstation1/pxelinux.0
next-server: 192.168.0.1 or other
lopo
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 25 Apr 2013 19:42

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby Aigor » 26 Apr 2013 09:47

lopo wrote:Hi Aigor,
this
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3

what is very important:
each client needs its own directory on the server
tftpd/diskstation1
tftpd/diskstation2
etc
the HW MAC networkadapter in the DHCP Server and in the pxelinux.cfg/default match

in My DHCP server (http://ipcop.org/) can set:
filename: diskstation1/pxelinux.0
next-server: 192.168.0.1 or other

Thank you lopo, i have already setup my "boot" server, i'm using ipxe installed on my N40L synology :D so i can create many different setup.
every cliend must have different mac-address that have to match with "real" nic mac-address, for testing purpose should be interesting setup 2 VM with HA for to know howto work.
User avatar
Aigor
 
Posts: 302
Joined: 03 Apr 2013 16:54
Location: Roma Italy

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby lopo » 26 Apr 2013 12:37

I bought the first RS only 6 weeks ago :lol:
But already 12 years linux.
I no longer burn dvd, only pxe boot.
matter was the subject very interesting :lol:

# SERIAL 0 38400 0
DEFAULT vesamenu.c32
#Menu Background howtoforge_pxe.png
MENU TITLE IPCop PXE-Boot-Menue
MENU color title 1;36;44 #ffffffff #00000000 std
MENU color sel 7;37;40 #ffffffff #ffdaa520 all
MENU color hotsel 1;7;37;40 #ffffffff #ffdaa520 all
MENU WIDTH 80
MENU MARGIN 10
MENU ROWS 12
MENU ENDROW 24
MENU TIMEOUTROW 18
MENU VSHIFT 2

PROMPT 0
ALLOWOPTIONS 1


LABEL HDBoot
MENU LABEL Von Festplatte booten
LOCALBOOT 0


LABEL Debian 6 Installation i386
#MENU LABEL Debian Installation
kernel debian6/linux
append initrd=debian6/initrd.gz
#edd=off earlyconsole=ttyS0 console=ttyS0,38400

LABEL Mageia Installation
kernel mageia/2/i586/alt0/vmlinuz
append initrd=mageia/2/i586/alt0/all.rdz automatic=method:nfs,server:192.168.0.10,directory:/mnt/raid/samba/CD-Iso/mageia/3/,network:dhcp vga=788 lang=de splash=silent

LABEL PMagic 6.6
MENU LABEL PMagic 6.6 starten
KERNEL vesamenu.c32
append pmagic6/menu.cfg

....
etc. etc

TFTPD is my IPCop onto Alix Board

many greetings lopo
lopo
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 25 Apr 2013 19:42

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby Aigor » 26 Apr 2013 13:34

Thank you for sharing your experience :D did you know UDA? Ultimate Desktop Appliance?
I'm playng with vmware esxi, xendesktop and others things like that
User avatar
Aigor
 
Posts: 302
Joined: 03 Apr 2013 16:54
Location: Roma Italy

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby lopo » 26 Apr 2013 19:24

Hi Aigor,

Ultimate Desktop Appliance I do not know.
I have built in recent times rather streamingserver with HTS Tvheadend and OpenELEC.
OpenELEC but also starts not by pxe :cry:

the start of the DiskStation from pxe I still have a problem.
The SynologyAssistant identified the Hardware PC than RS3411RPxs, install brings error, with DSM_RS3411RPxs_2668.pat (Synology Version) and DSM_RS812RP+_3211.pat.
only the boot with usb stick works with SynoBoot_3612xs_4.1++.img, and identified den Hardware PC than DS3612xs.
until now no solution
lopo
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 25 Apr 2013 19:42

Re: environement for trying xpenolgy

Postby lopo » 28 Apr 2013 09:33

Hi Aigor,
It all works for you?
I have more the German forum a thread opened.

greetings lopo
lopo
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 25 Apr 2013 19:42


Return to XPEnology General discussion



x