Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby Polanskiman » 14 Feb 2017 08:21

fonix232 wrote:Are there any news about update 9? It isn't really specified what issues it is causing, and I can't see much about related topics either.


Some people were unable access their box after applying update s9, that is why I issued a warning. So far what I have seen is that the issue happened to people who where using Jun's loader v1.0 and not v1.01. It seems that most of the time the issue was resolved by either updating to the newer version of the loader or simply burning the image loader again on the usb drive.
Last edited by Polanskiman on 15 Feb 2017 03:28, edited 1 time in total.
CASE: Lian Li PC-Q25B MB: Gigabyte H97N-WIFI (rev. 1.0) CPU: Intel G3220 PSU: Seasonic Platinum-860 HDD: WD RED 2 x 2TB RAM: 16GB
BOOT USB: SanDisk Ultra Fit 16GB LOADER: Jun's v1.01 loader DSM: DSM 6.0.2-8451 Update 8 HOWTO: Tutorial DSM 6.0
User avatar
Polanskiman
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 09 Aug 2014 05:15

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby lunzet » 14 Feb 2017 13:23

Hi all
so my first post and already a question to this great project as I have tried upgrading from DSM 5.2 to 6.0 checking this doc here.
Unfortunately when trying to reboot from the fresh flashed usb stick with junes loader 1.01 i only do see a blinking cursor although with dsm 5.2 everything is working as expected(so all hardware is working). So I am wondering how to check wghich driver might be missing or is having an issue or if I should just get different hardware or just wait for an updated version?

my current hardware is a HP dc7700 SFF (https://www.cnet.com/products/hp-compaq ... ess/specs/)
anything wrong with this for DSM 6 ?

Thanks so much
lunzet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Feb 2017 13:16

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby Polanskiman » 15 Feb 2017 03:35

lunzet wrote:Hi all
so my first post and already a question to this great project as I have tried upgrading from DSM 5.2 to 6.0 checking this doc here.
Unfortunately when trying to reboot from the fresh flashed usb stick with junes loader 1.01 i only do see a blinking cursor although with dsm 5.2 everything is working as expected(so all hardware is working). So I am wondering how to check wghich driver might be missing or is having an issue or if I should just get different hardware or just wait for an updated version?

my current hardware is a HP dc7700 SFF (https://www.cnet.com/products/hp-compaq ... ess/specs/)
anything wrong with this for DSM 6 ?

Thanks so much


Make sure your bios is configured to boot in UEFI mode. If your MB doesn't support UEFI then make sure you boot from legacy by selecting the proper boot drive during boot or by configuring your bios beforehand so that it boots the loader in legacy mode.
CASE: Lian Li PC-Q25B MB: Gigabyte H97N-WIFI (rev. 1.0) CPU: Intel G3220 PSU: Seasonic Platinum-860 HDD: WD RED 2 x 2TB RAM: 16GB
BOOT USB: SanDisk Ultra Fit 16GB LOADER: Jun's v1.01 loader DSM: DSM 6.0.2-8451 Update 8 HOWTO: Tutorial DSM 6.0
User avatar
Polanskiman
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 09 Aug 2014 05:15

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby lunzet » 15 Feb 2017 04:49

board is already set for legacy boot. dsm 5.2 boots without issues. dsm 6 is only showing blinking cursor... no other message at all. same thing when selecting the usb stick manually on boot menu. no idea
lunzet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 14 Feb 2017 13:16

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby turexy » 15 Feb 2017 10:30

Hi guys,

I would like to make few changes to the boot image and specifically to the content of ramdisk.lzma which is in \image\DS3615xs\ folder. The problem is that I cannot unsquash the file it's giving me:

Can't find a SQUASHFS superblock on ramdisk.lzma

I have compiled squashfs4.3 with LZMA_XZ_SUPPORT ebnabled, but no joy.

@Polanskiman, do you have any recommendation to linux flavour, packages needed or any tips how to properly unsquashfs the ramdisk.lzma edit it and then mksquashfs it back?
turexy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 27 Nov 2013 15:47

Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby Polanskiman » 15 Feb 2017 11:25

turexy wrote:Hi guys,

I would like to make few changes to the boot image and specifically to the content of ramdisk.lzma which is in \image\DS3615xs\ folder. The problem is that I cannot unsquash the file it's giving me:

Can't find a SQUASHFS superblock on ramdisk.lzma

I have compiled squashfs4.3 with LZMA_XZ_SUPPORT ebnabled, but no joy.

@Polanskiman, do you have any recommendation to linux flavour, packages needed or any tips how to properly unsquashfs the ramdisk.lzma edit it and then mksquashfs it back?


Not sure if this is what you are after but here you go:

Unpack script:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
rm -r ramdisk
mkdir ramdisk
cd ramdisk
unlzma -c ../ramdisk.lzma | cpio -im
cd ..


repack script:
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
cd ramdisk
find . | cpio -o -H newc | lzma > ../ramdisk_new.lzma
cd ..


Just so that you know the image is already a hybrid image efi/bios.
CASE: Lian Li PC-Q25B MB: Gigabyte H97N-WIFI (rev. 1.0) CPU: Intel G3220 PSU: Seasonic Platinum-860 HDD: WD RED 2 x 2TB RAM: 16GB
BOOT USB: SanDisk Ultra Fit 16GB LOADER: Jun's v1.01 loader DSM: DSM 6.0.2-8451 Update 8 HOWTO: Tutorial DSM 6.0
User avatar
Polanskiman
 
Posts: 660
Joined: 09 Aug 2014 05:15

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby turexy » 15 Feb 2017 12:34

Great, thanks for the info, much appreciated!

Before I start doing any work on the image I would like to explain what I would like to achieve.

My current server is running 5.2 on xenon CPU with 16 GB of ram, 6Gb LSI HBA, this is so I can run few virtual machines using the VpirtualBox with php GUI package from http://spk.diablos-netzwerk.de/#showhistory_virtualbox. It works perfectly on 5.2 and I wanted to create a test bed so I can see how it works on 6.x before I move the whole system.

Unfortunately the latest supported version by the VirtualBox is DSM 6.0 7321. My aim was to edit VERSION file inside /etc/ folder so it lets me install the DSM_DS3615xs_7321.pat .

Is the loader going to work with 6.0 7321 at all or I should not waste my time and wait for release of the DSM source for the current versions?

I have already tested all the features from the 6.0.2 updat8 using your loader, the one I'm particularly interested in is btrfs, I was able to make snapshots send them over ssh to remote locations, run stuff directly off the remote snapshots it's just awesome. Been log wait to see zfs-like file-system on the Synology :)
turexy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 27 Nov 2013 15:47

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby turexy » 15 Feb 2017 16:01

That's odd, I've tried Ubuntu 16 and CentOS 7 with lzma tools installed.

I used kpartx on the synoboot.img so I can map the partitions, and then mounted the first partition to be able to copy the ramdisk.lzma:

Code: Select all
unzip DS3615xs\ 6.0.2\ Jun\'s\ Mod\ V1.01.zip
kpartx -av synoboot.img
add map loop0p1 (253:0): 0 61440 linear /dev/loop0 2048
add map loop0p2 (253:1): 0 30720 linear /dev/loop0 63488
add map loop0p3 (253:2): 0 8159 linear /dev/loop0 94208

mount /dev/mapper/loop0p1 /mnt/
mkdir dev
cd dev/
cp -a /mnt/image/DS3615xs/ramdisk.lzma
ls -lh
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 5.9M Nov  2 09:34 ramdisk.lzma

mkdir ramdisk
cd ramdisk
# unlzma -c ../ramdisk.lzma | cpio -im
45997 blocks
unlzma: ../ramdisk.lzma: Compressed data is corrupt


I get same error no matter what I do. Any idea?
turexy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 27 Nov 2013 15:47

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby turexy » 15 Feb 2017 16:25

Scrap that, I'm being a nob, I didn't see the output from the cpio as there was no v parameter. The ramdisk file has actually uncompressed just fine. I will test it with the DSM_DS3615xs_7321.pat this evening.
turexy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 27 Nov 2013 15:47

Re: Tutorial: Install/Migrate DSM 5.2 to 6.0 (Jun's loader)

Postby turexy » 15 Feb 2017 20:01

Well it didn't work. I mean I get the boot screen up to the moment where it says Booting kernel. but without any output it's hard to say what is going on. It basically doesn't get a DHCP lease that I know for sure as I'm doing tcpdump on my DHCP server.

My new VERSION file looks like:

Code: Select all
majorversion="6"
minorversion="0"
productversion="6.0"
buildphase="hotfix"
buildnumber="7321"
smallfixnumber="0"
builddate="2016/04/18"
buildtime="05:10:40"
unique="synology_bromolow_3615xs"
extractsize=680844


I think it's a correct format. I manged once to downgrade my 5.x DSM and I rmember I had to edit this file to be able to install earlier version of *pat file.

If any one is more familiar with this and you think it would take you few minutes to generate working synoboot.img or at least ramdisk.lzma for DSM_DS3615xs_7321.pat I would much appreciate it.
turexy
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 27 Nov 2013 15:47

PreviousNext

Return to XPEnology General discussion



x