XPEnology Community

Supermicro X10SDV-4C-TLN2F compatibility

Ferlez

Hi,

Im new to XPEnology, so I apologise in advance in my questions are stupid. I have a 213j Synology that I primarily use for torrents, sonarr, CP, Plex (tho no transcoding), backups etc. Basicaly everything works, it just sooo slow, and things stop working because its old and slow.

I had my eye on the 1515+ but for that money I can get the supermicro board with Xeon D 1520.

My question is, if I will be able to install XPE onto it and will everything work as intended. Does anyone have experience with the board and cpu and are the drivers supported. I tried to find it on the supported HW page but with no luck.

Any help would be greatly appriciated!

2 part answer for your 2 part question.

Yes, you can install XPE onto a compatible set of hardware and everything will work just fine.

It'll be exactly like this https://www.synology.com/en-global/know ... _and_later

Note: Please make a full backup of your data before you try it.

For example if ryou DS213j is running DSM 6.0 and you migrate back to XPE 5.2 you might encounter some errors.

It'll still work but it gets more complicated, there's a sticky about how to reverse DSM 6.0 back to DSM 5.2

Now, part 2 of your question/answer re: Supermicro X10SDV-4C-TLN2F

I don't have personal experience with that board, so I can not comment on that.

However if the Chipsets on that board are compatible with the supported hardware listed on the sticky, then you "should" be fine

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10973

The specsheet is very vague...

http://www.supermicro.com/products/moth ... -TLN2F.cfm

CPU is fine

Chiptset is so vague "System on Chip" doesn't say actual chipset brand and model, by educated guess, it "should" be intel Broadwell

Network 1 Realtek RTL8201N PHY, this might not work, it's not listed in the hardware supported list.

There is no mention of the 10Gbps, seems like a sold separately add-on, not included with the motherboard.