DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby fonix232 » 20 Mar 2017 11:32

sze wrote:Hi Rick67,

take care. Everyone having trouble with DS3617. Use DS3615. DS 3617 will not work after few days. Made same experience and use now DS3615.


For me the DS3615xs loader also stopped working after ~24 hours, and it was in general a lot slower (web UI access, saving and loading config, etc.)
BOARD MSI B250I PRO | CPU Intel Pentium G4560
RAM 8GB Crucial DDR4 | CASE Bitfenix Prodigy mITX
fonix232
 
Posts: 241
Joined: 10 May 2013 14:24

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby OBWANDO » 20 Mar 2017 12:44

Hey Boom,

Note that the SSD only really kicks in for small files, but I'm using a Samsung 850 Pro 512GB for the SSD Cache.

The drives themselves are all spindle but on that board, its running full 8 lanes (even though the slot can do 16x). So figure that the card can easily do a large transfer rate north of 10 gigabit pretty easily with that number of drives which can max out the 10 Gb Ethernet easily.

Full Parts list here:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015FWP4B2
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IAELTAI
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SD9IORQ
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BIWLFGQ
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0085FT2JC

Tossed an unltraquiet 60cm fan on the heatsink just so it stays under 50c.

Drives:
https://www.amazon.com/HITACHI-0F12470- ... B00SQ65ZCI

Which bench out at 160-180 x 8 drives = 1200MB/sec - 1440MB/sec and on 5.2 it benched this hardware at 10Gb network max.



boOmLa wrote:
OBWANDO wrote:Wrote a few days ago (pg 225) about running 3617x version of 1.02a and the drive issues.
Moving over to 3615 and 6.1 (DSM_DS3615xs_15047.pat) worked great.

That said... 5.2 was quite a bit faster on file transfers, and I added a SSD to the mix just to see if it made any difference on 6.1 (knowing for large file transfers it wouldnt).

on 5.2 I was able to consistently max out the 10GB line at 850-950+ MB/sec.
on 6.1 I get spikes up to about 500, but it nosedives down to 100-150, then perks up to about 200, but not much better

So i'm a bit bummed there because i like 6.x series as my real Syno runs it (yep supported the company as well).

For reference I'm using a LSI9211-8 on a Supermicro X10SDV-4C-TLN2F-O Xeon D-1521 board.

My question is this... Does anyone think that with the new 6.1 drop, that any of the new compiles will make any tangible difference?

Also, anyone know if M.2 SSD might be supported? would be amazing for cache at the 10GB speeds since single SSD is going to max out at 500.

wow 850-950mbs ? What SSD are you using - i had an Samsung 850 SSD in mine 5.2 and maxed out at 245Mbs - now running Synology DS916+II with 2 Samsung 850 SSD running Raid 0 and peeking at 310 when start transf, a 8GB file from a folder to another and gets down to 145Mbs ..

I would love to hear more about your config - I'am running the Raid0 on btrfs as volume 1 - Had hoped to get much more speed with 2 ssd raid0, but still around 150-145Mbs
OBWANDO
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 Jan 2017 12:51

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby MontereyKimi » 20 Mar 2017 13:44

DrEVILish wrote:I've been trying for the last couple of days to install XPEnology on my Dell PowerEdge R510, without any success currently.



I recently was successful in testing 6.0.2 on a Dell R710. I put an Intel NIC in and booted off usb. The machine was found and I loaded the pat file. Then on reboot, I could not find it again, I moved the cat5 cable to NIC 1 of the server, not the Intel NIC, and it was found. I rebooted several times and it has been working for the past week.

I did not modify the image file in any way.
MontereyKimi
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Feb 2017 21:20

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby Black6spdZ » 20 Mar 2017 17:33

has anyone here tested or run XPE on a QNAP "atom powered" NAS
CASE: LIAN LI PC-Q25B MB: Tyan S5533 CPU: Xeon E3-1220v3 RAM: 16Gb ECC HDD: 5xST4000DM001 LSI 9211-8i SDD: 2x120gb 850 EVO DSM: 6.1-15047.1
Black6spdZ
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 24 Feb 2017 20:50

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby pigr8 » 20 Mar 2017 19:07

JBark wrote:
ema wrote:HP Gen8 with integrated dual nic

Upgrade is working but no network after reboot...
I connect to my Gen8 with iLO VSP (iLO Virtual Serial Port) and I found that there are 2 file missing from /lib/modules after upgrade: libphy.ko and tg3.ko
I have found these two files under /lib/modules/update so I copied them under /lib/modules (don't forget to chmod 644 them) and reboot... now network is working again.
I think, as Jun's said, there's something related to update script to fix... but, as other said, clean install work.

Ciao
ema


Confirming this worked for me as well on my Gen8. I needed to get up to 6.1 so I could finally update to the newest phpVirtualBox, and this was my only option. I'm getting the "failed storage space" for my single SSD at boot, but everything runs fine so that's not really a big deal.


thanks for sharing both!
pigr8
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 23 Dec 2014 21:37

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby nick w » 20 Mar 2017 20:02

Hello

I am hoping someone out there is able to help. I have just upgraded my baremetal HP N54L withJuns loader to DSM 6.0.2. Since upgrading, my synology is unable to see my DVT Tuner, Nanostick 290e

I have tried everything but i am expecting the drivers are not included in the image on DSM. Is anyone able to point me into a guide so i can attempt it?
Or is there someone able to help guide me though doing it?

https://stevekerrison.com/290e/

I have enough knowledge to drive round a Linux OS, but compiling against source code is a few levels above me!

Thanks
Nick

Sent while on the move
nick w
 
Posts: 90
Joined: 02 Feb 2014 00:07

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby fonix232 » 20 Mar 2017 22:47

Is there a way to disable the MAC changing aspect of the loader? I think that might be causing the problem with my network at the moment, and no matter what I set as MAC address, no loader shows up on the network.
BOARD MSI B250I PRO | CPU Intel Pentium G4560
RAM 8GB Crucial DDR4 | CASE Bitfenix Prodigy mITX
fonix232
 
Posts: 241
Joined: 10 May 2013 14:24

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby jimeney » 21 Mar 2017 06:48

fonix232 wrote:Is there a way to disable the MAC changing aspect of the loader? I think that might be causing the problem with my network at the moment, and no matter what I set as MAC address, no loader shows up on the network.


You could try adding a second NIC and disconnecting your primary connection, that worked in vmware for me. Otherwise, there are plenty of instructions around doing this properly, ie mounting the img file, changing the vid, pid and mac address...
jimeney
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 04 Feb 2015 20:48

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby fonix232 » 21 Mar 2017 08:34

jimeney wrote:
fonix232 wrote:Is there a way to disable the MAC changing aspect of the loader? I think that might be causing the problem with my network at the moment, and no matter what I set as MAC address, no loader shows up on the network.


You could try adding a second NIC and disconnecting your primary connection, that worked in vmware for me. Otherwise, there are plenty of instructions around doing this properly, ie mounting the img file, changing the vid, pid and mac address...


I am very well aware of doing this "properly". However for some days now I've been having the issue of not being able to see the device on network no matter what I do. Last night it went so bad that even my router's "connected devices" tab fritzed out and refused to show any.

Since my network is not exactly standard setup (main router broadcasts a hidden SSID network with MAC filter, luckily the filter does not work on 5GHz networks, so I use a secondary router, an Asus AC66U_B1 to repeat the signal as my own network, including LAN), I can't set a fixed IP for it at all.
BOARD MSI B250I PRO | CPU Intel Pentium G4560
RAM 8GB Crucial DDR4 | CASE Bitfenix Prodigy mITX
fonix232
 
Posts: 241
Joined: 10 May 2013 14:24

Re: DSM 6.0.2 Loader ( was "A new loader for latest DSM")

Postby colrojo » 21 Mar 2017 10:38

I test 916 loader And not find in the net.
Is posible that network card (rtl)
Not have a driver?
colrojo
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 02 Mar 2016 22:22

PreviousNext

Return to XPEnology General discussion



x