Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby Designator » 18 May 2017 14:09

Elpee wrote:
jensmander wrote:Installed another bare-metal system with 1.02a2 successfully, running DSM 6.1.1-15101 Update 2:

- ASROCK FM2A78M-ITX+
- AMD AD786KYBI44JC
- 2x4GB DDR3
- 4x4TB Seagate & 1x120GB SSD (read cache)

A quick question.
Any benefits if using SSD for cache in real world? I'm asking because I have to sacrifice a SATA port in my Nas for the SSD drive.
Thanks.


Are you able to use all 8gb of RAM ?
I'm on 1.02a ds3615xs and everytime the System boots 7gb get reserved and can't be accessed by dsm.
Designator
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 18 May 2017 13:01

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby Razor237 » 18 May 2017 14:52

I recently redid my setup after a disk failure on my Qnap TVS-471 that i wasn't using a raid setup. i decided to install xpenolgy on that. my question is there a better option of the two loaders .... DS3615xs or DS3617xs, ive tried them both and they both seem to work just wondering if one was a better choice ?


since im tinkering i installed photo station threw some photos and videos into the folder. its not a program i use so to me it seems to work ok , i was able to play avi & mp4 files, how were you trying to play the videos
Razor237
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 10 Mar 2016 19:05

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby Parallax » 18 May 2017 17:38

As usual, my first post is a request for help!

I'm running a bare metal Gen8 and all was fine using Jun's 1.02a, 6.1, and DS3615xs. I read here a number of people had no problems on Gen8 bare metal upgrading to 6.1.1, so stupidly I allowed DSM to upgrade.

Now, I have a problem. I can only see the machine on the network through find.synology.com etc if I do force install. If I do a normal boot, nothing can see it.

I see others have had the same problem - although not on a Gen8 - but I haven't seen a solution anywhere.

Other info :
- I've built a new USB stick, no change.
- After a forced install, Synology Assistant finds the system as migratable, and will (re)install the latest 6.1.1. But then when it reboots normally, it doesn't reappear on the network. If I force install again at that point, then of course I'm back to migratable.

Any ideas, please? Seems it's perhaps some sort of problem with the NIC driver, but I don't know what and I thought the Gen8 NIC was included in the base 1.02a? (Plus, it used to work...)

Thanks in advance.
Parallax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 May 2017 17:16

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby IG-88 » 18 May 2017 18:32

there might by a "easy" solution
boot from live linux, use mdadm to assamble the system parttion (raid1 over first partition on all disks, 2nd link) and copy the file(s) from /lib/modules/update/ to /lib/modules/

https://xpenology.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=20216&start=2900#p101580
and
https://xpenology.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=30805

PS:
I read here a number of people had no problems on Gen8 bare metal upgrading to 6.1.1,


not shure where you have read that but i clearly remember a lot of people here complainig about for 2 weeks that it does not work - hardly to overlook when reading about 6.1.1 more then 5 minutes
User avatar
IG-88
 
Posts: 140
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 11:07

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby Parallax » 18 May 2017 22:01

Thanks, I'll give that a go and see. As a newbie, it would be nice to understand what went wrong and how doing this (hopefully) fixes that, but I guess the aim is to get the system running.

not shure where you have read that but i clearly remember a lot of people here complainig about for 2 weeks that it does not work - hardly to overlook when reading about 6.1.1 more then 5 minutes

Well, we could trade links to positive and negative postings, and then do a comparison of people's experiences, also positive and negative, with earlier updates, but I don't really see the gain. The impression I formed after reading posts for much of the day on 6.1.1 was positive for bare metal installs and negative for virtualised ones. You have your views based on what you read, I have mine, and the situation is what it is. It has been complained about elsewhere that the nature of this forum is that a huge amount of knowledge on a lot of very complex detail is spread across many, many posts, and builds on history and context going back months and years - plus solutions evolve over time. It is ultimately very hard for a casual and inexperienced user to assimilate all this accurately, particularly while under the pressure of a non-functioning system.

Anyway, I appreciate the help and will report back.
Parallax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 May 2017 17:16

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby Parallax » 19 May 2017 00:16

OK, I copied the only Broadcom .ko I could find that wasn't present - bnx2.ko from memory - and rebooted. The system then came up as "configuration lost," I reinstalled 6.1.1 and now I'm re-configuring everything to get things working again (all my data is fine, though).

I'll see how I go tomorrow because it's late now, but it seems to have worked. But why?

But thank you!
Parallax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 May 2017 17:16

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby Parallax » 19 May 2017 12:08

Everything's working. It wants me to install 15101-u2 but, um, no, not for the moment. :)
Parallax
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 18 May 2017 17:16

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby suranx » 19 May 2017 17:20

Hi, can you add the virtio drivers? or tell me how to build the extra.lzma? thx :D
suranx
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 May 2017 17:13

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby IG-88 » 19 May 2017 17:52

suranx wrote:Hi, can you add the virtio drivers?


virtio drivers are part of libvirt?
as there is a (beta) virtualization package vom synology with libvirt, qemu(KVM) i'd expect that to part of dsm or that package?


suranx wrote: or tell me how to build the extra.lzma? thx :D


https://xpenology.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=32744
User avatar
IG-88
 
Posts: 140
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 11:07

Re: Jun's Loader v1.02a & v1.02a2 Alpha for DSM 6.1

Postby derwoodbones » 19 May 2017 22:22

Running Bare Metal on Dell Optiplex 760 Using 1.02a2 With DSM 6.1.1-15101 Update 2, Working great with everything I use.

Intel Cre 2 Duo 3.06 Ghz
8GB DDR 2
2x WD 1TB

Nextcloud Working
WOL Working
Auto Power on and off working

Thank you very much !
derwoodbones
 
Posts: 38
Joined: 04 Jun 2014 15:33

PreviousNext

Return to XPEnology General discussion



x